Michael Aspinall, Chair of Keep Australia Beautiful Council, Dale Stewart, Torre Evens and Leigh Ballard, Shire of Narrogin. Source: Taken from the Tidy Towns Winners website, and credit to Gan Eden Media.
  • Remote and regional communities invited to enter 2021 Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities Awards
  • Awards launched at community clean-up event in Esperance
  • Entries close on August 27, 2021

Entries are now open for the Keep Australia Beautiful Council’s (KABC) 2021 Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities Awards.

The annual awards were launched today at a community clean-up event in Esperance, and are available to all remote and regional communities in Western Australia.

In its 52nd year, the program aims to acknowledge sustainable, litter-free communities by celebrating initiatives such as litter prevention, environmental education, preserving heritage, community action, and youth leadership.

“KABC’s Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities Awards have a long history of encouraging friendly competition between towns, and enabling participants to learn from other communities about environmental initiatives and sustainability,” said Environment Minister, Amber-Jade Sanderson.

Communities are invited to apply for one or more of the seven categories:

  • Litter prevention and waste management;
  • General appearance;
  • Community action and wellbeing;
  • Environmental sustainability;
  • Environmental education;
  • Heritage and culture;
  • Young legends.

The awards are funded by the Waste Authority through the Waste Avoidance and Resource Recovery Account.

The 2020 State winner, Narrogin will represent WA at the National Towns Awards in Victoria in June 2021.

“These awards are about people coming together to ensure their communities are a place where visitors are delighted to come and locals want to stay.”

“I encourage all Western Australian rural and remote towns to get their entries in and showcase the important work taking place in their community to protect WA’s natural environment,” concluded Ms Sanderson.


Entries for the 2021 program close on August 27, 2021, and judging visits will take place in September. Winners will be announced at the State Awards Event at Optus Stadium on Friday, November 26, 2021.

You May Also Like

‘State of the Art’: Gold Coast development to feature innovative artwork

Awaken Residences is set to feature one of the largest art works ever commissioned for a private development in Australia…

Mulpha announces release of luxury villas

Mulpha Australia has released 15 luxury villas in the tropical surrounds of Hayman Island

Busselton Jetty makes a splash with new $30M deal

Tourists should have whale of a time at proposed Busselton Jetty…