order of Australia medal
More than 1,100 Australians received an honour on this Queen’s Birthday. Image – Governor-General Website.
  • 1,190 Australians were honoured in this year's list
  • Developers and architects were among the property-related recipients

Yesterday, the Governor-General announced the Queen’s Birthday 2021 Honours List.

For those of you wondering, the Queen’s actual birthday was not yesterday, but was on 21 April, when she turned 95. In Western Australia, they celebrate her birthday in September. Don’t ask me why.

Anyway, back to the list, which saw 1,190 Australians from all walks of life receive their acknowledgement, 44% of whom are women – a record.

“On behalf of all Australians, congratulations to all recipients. Each of these individuals are unique and their story deserves to be shared widely and celebrated,” said Governor-General David Hurley.

“Collectively, they speak to who we are as a nation. There are countless examples of selflessness, commitment and dedication. There is diversity and there are examples of exceptional achievement in almost every field imaginable.”

The Property Tribune has reviewed the list of recipients and has selected some of those in either the property, real estate or architectural sectors, along with short biographies from the official list.

All recipients listed received a Member of the Order of Australia (AM), excluding Dominic Richards and Roger Poole who both received a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM).

The recipients

Soheil Abedian – Queensland – AM

Mr Abedian co-founded luxury housing developer Sunland Group. “For significant service to the community, and to the property development sector.”

Robert Hamilton – NSW – AM

The Mirvac co-founder received his award “For significant service to the property development sector, and to urban renewal.”

Shelley Penn – VIC – AM

Ms Penn founded her own hybrid architecture firm back in 1993, which has gone on to receive many awards nationally and internationally. She is currently an Adjunct Professor at Monash University. “For significant service to architecture and design in the public realm, and to professional institutes.”

Kathryn Mitchell  – VIC – AM

Ms Mitchell, who is the Chief Panel Member of Planning Panels Victoria, received her AM “For significant service to urban planning, and to professional associations.”

Lolita Mohyla – SA – AM

Ms Mohyla has been a registered architect since 1984 and is a permanent Commissioner of the Environment, Resources and Development Court of South Australia. She received her AM “For significant service to architecture, and to construction law.”

Danny Murphy – Perth – AM

Mr Murphy is the Executive Chairman of LWP Group who specialise in medium to large urban projects; he received his AM “For significant service to urban development, and to the community.”

Marion Fulker – WA – AM

Ms Fulker is the current Chief Executive of the Committee for Perth and is an Adjunct Senior Research Fellow at UWA. “For significant service to urban planning and infrastructure development.”

Epaminondas Katsalidis  – VIC – AM

Mr Katsalidis has been a co-founding partner in Fender Katsalidis Pty Ltd since 2001, which notably includes projects that integrate art into architecture. “For significant service to architecture, and to sustainable construction innovations”

Roger Poole – VIC – OAM

Mr Poole has been long involved in the Australian architecture scene, culminating in being awarded Life Membership to the Committee for Melbourne. In addition, he was chairman of Bates Smart.  “For service to architecture, and to the community.”

Dominic Richards – NSW – OAM

Mr Richards notably is the Director of The Prince’s Foundation for Building Community and is the co-founder of Our Place, which is a dynamic architect developer specialising in creating local identities such as sustainable and walkable communities. “For service to architecture, and to the community.”

Vallence Simonds – VIC – AM

Mr Simonds is the founder and a senior company advisor at ASX-listed Simonds Group. “For significant service to the building and construction industry, and to charitable initiatives.”

You May Also Like

Property and design firms to shine a light on First Nations at Melbourne Fashion Festival

the Urban Oasis Runway presented by Architectus, ADP Consulting, MPA and Slattery will be held on Friday 9 March at 7.00pm.

Property Council launches CBD VIP campaign to raise footfall in Perth city

The move comes on the day most COVID restrictions across WA were lifted

2022 Apartment Awards to include seven new categories

Entries for the awards close 31 March

Harcourts Packham joins Toward Home to battle homelessness

‘Terra Firma’ provides short-term accommodation for vulnerable people